Things We Didn't Say

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.99
  • We have 3 in stock.


Ironside Lake, Minnesota January 1944 Headstrong and determined, linguistics student Johanna Berglund has very definite plans for her future . . . plans that do not include returning to her hometown and the secrets and heartaches she left behind. But when the only way to her intended future is through undertaking a translator position at a nearby camp for German POWs, she reluctantly accepts. Johanna arrives to find the once-sleepy Minnesota town exploding with hostility. Most patriotic citizens want nothing to do with German soldiers laboring in their fields, and they're not afraid to criticize those who work at the camp as well. When Johanna describes the trouble to her close friend Peter Ito, a language instructor at a school for military intelligence officers, he encourages her to give the town that rejected her a second chance. As Johanna interacts with the prisoners and censors their letters home, she begins to see them in a more sympathetic light, but advocating for better treatment makes her enemies in the community. The longer Johanna wages her home-front battle, the more the lines between compassion and treason become blurred--and she must decide where her heart truly lies. "Green debuts with an enthralling epistolary tale revolving around a WWII-era treason trial. . . . This is a smart examination of patriotism, prejudice, and purpose."--Publishers Weekly "Green's epistolary novel set during World War II will appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society."--Library Journal "Green's debut is a memorable and moving exploration of prejudice and friendship across ethnic and gender lines. For readers who enjoy tales of ordinary people thrust into extraordinary historical situations � la Susan Meissner and Lisa �Wingate."--Library Journal starred review Praise for Things We Didn't Say "Amy Lynn Green expertly wields wit, heart, history, and enveloping storytelling in this glorious debut."--Amanda Dykes, author of Set the Stars Alight and Whose Waves These Are "With impeccable research, Amy Lynn Green casts a light on the POW camps in America during World War II. . . . Make space on your bookshelf, because this book is a keeper!"--Sarah Sundin, bestselling and award-winning author of When Twilight Breaks and the Sunrise at Normandy series "This winsome epistolary is underscored by a deep look at patriotism, prejudice, unwavering faith, duty, and love."--Rachel McMillan, author of The London Restoration